Six teams made up the 1932 First Grade Competition, Acton, Ainslie, Eastlake, Goulburn, Manuka and Queanbeyan.

Ainslie had a very poor year as many of the 1931 experience players left Canberra due to lack of work opportunities with the onset of the Depression. Ainslie lost more than half the team from the previous season. Ainslie topped up the Senior team with many younger players from their Juniors and relied on a few remaining veteran.

The Ainslie First Grade team for the first round game against Queanbeyan was:
Dee, Harrington, Savage, Maloney, Nancarrow, Lyng, Gladwyn, Neill, Smith, Williams, Sutton, Loftus, Bright, Williams, Johnston, George, Llewellyn, Bryan, McIntosh (19th).

New players to First Grade included Harry Stent, Tom Findlay, Rowley Brian, Sam Dee, Rowley Savage, Harry Douglas, Stan Gladwin, Clem Bright, Don Peel, Roy Gillard, George O’Neill.

The Ainslie First Grade team failed to win a game during the 1932 season and finished on the bottom of the ladder with a low percentage of only 29. This was the worst performance by an Ainslie team in their history. Under the leadership of Secretary Bert Boorn the Club launched a five year plan to make Ainslie competitive again.


The Juniors finished the home and away season on top of the ladder without losing a game. However in the second Semi Final they lost to Queanbeyan, their first defeat of the year, 7.7-49 to 4.8-32.

In the Preliminary Final they defeated Telopea Park, 6.11-47 to 4.4-28 to move through to the Grand Final against Queanbeyan.

The Ainslie Juniors won the 1932 Premiership by defeating Queanbeyan by 8 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 5.5-35 def Queanbeyan 3.9-27
  • Best for Ainslie: Law, Martin, Huntingford, Moore
  • Goal Kickers: De Smet 3, Hopping 1, Cheel 1.

The Junior team that played in the last round of the home and away was chosen from:

  • Martin (Capt.)
  • Williams (V,Capt.)
  • Boag, Prowse
  • Law, Edwards
  • Smith, De Smet
  • Lee, Hopping
  • Seaton
  • Vautin
  • Withers
  • Cheel
  • Riddle
  • Moore
  • Thurbon
  • Connelly
  • Huntingford
  • Saunders
  • May.

Club Officials

  • President: Thomas James
  • Vice Presidents: R Kiely, J L Mulrooney, Irvine, R G ?
  • Committee:  W Miles, A Sutton, C Williams, W Cottingham, J Smith
  • Secretary: A H Boorn
  • Ass Sectretary and Treasurer: A Bryan
  • Delegates to the League:  A Sutton, A Bryan, W Miles
  • Time keeper: G Millard