The Canberra Football League in 1935 consisted of five teams, Acton, Ainslie, Eastlake, Manuka and Queanbeyan.

After the home and away season Ainslie finished as Minor Premiers losing only 1 game. The Second Semi Final was played at Northbourne Oval between Ainslie and Manuka. In what was regarded as one of the best games for years Ainslie were able to win by 5 points.

  • Final score:  Ainslie 12.8-80 def Manuka 11.9-75
  • Goal Kickers for Ainslie: Collins 6, Leader 3, Lalor 2, James 1
  • Best: James, Spendelove, Lalor, Atkinson, Williams, Dee, Bryan, Leader

The Ainslie team for the Semi-Final was:

  • Backs: Sutton, Spendelove, Lyng
  • Half Backs: Williams, D Moore, Martin
  • Centres: McNamara, Atkinson, Neill
  • Half Forwards: Bryan, C Moore, Loftus
  • Forwards: James, Collins, Leader
  • Ruck: Watts, Lalor (Capt.), Dee

Ainslie met Manuka again in the Grand Final on Saturday 21 September  at Manuka Oval. Manuka were able to win their second Premiership by defeating Ainslie by 25 points in very windy conditions.

  • Final score: Ainslie 4.11-35 def by Manuka 5.11-41.
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Collins 2, Leader 1, Lee 1
  • Best: Atkinson, Lalor, C Moore, Martin, Collins, Spendelove, McNamara

The Ainslie Grand Final team was:

  • Backs: Lyng, Spendelove, Williams
  • Half Backs: Gribble, D Moore, Martin
  • Centres: Neill, Atkinson, McNamara
  • Half Forwards: Lees, Moroney, Bryan
  • Forwards: Watts, Collins, Leader
  • Ruck: Lalor, James, Dee    19th: Loftus  Emergencies: Prowse, Sutton

Ainslie had improved greatly over the four years since 1932 when it failed to win a game.

The 1934 Annual report stated that the 1935 season will see the culmination of the “Four-year plan” embarked upon in 1932, when the club adopted a policy of building up a team of young footballers. It stated that “the material now available has more than justified this policy.”

The First Grade team was coached by J Keogh and Captained by C Lalor.

Club Awards

  • Best & Fairest (Hibberson Cup): Sam Dee
  • Most Improved Player: Don Moore
  • Best Playing Club Member: A Bryan
  • Best Player in Grand Final: S Atkinson
  • Most Unselfish Player: Lionel James
  • Most Attentive to Training: Norman Lyng

A gold wrist watch was awarded to the Most Useful Player, George Collins, who kicked a League Record 125 goals for the season.


The Ainslie Juniors team won its six successive Premiership by defeating Eastlake in the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 10.14-74 def Eastlake 0.4-4
  • Best for Ainslie: Connelly, Kennard, Law

The Ainslie Junior Team for the Grand Final was:

  • J Connelly (Capt.)
  • G McInerney (V.Capt)
  • G Baker
  • C Law
  • E Johnson
  • N Peterson
  • W Taylor
  • J Colwell
  • G Robertson
  • R Kennard
  • J Eason
  • R Mulligan
  • K Prowse
  • A Stevens
  • W Boorn
  • M Hall
  • Bob Kennard
  • R Laird.

Much of the Juniors success was due to the hard work of C Kennard and Alf Sutton.

Office Bearers

  • President: C Gregory
  • Vice Presidents: P Kaufman, W Bushby, T Gillard, J Mulrooney, C O’Keefe, E Spendelove, M Martin
  • Hon Vice President: J Irvine
  • Committee: S Dee, C Kennard, R Lewis, P McNamara, R Spendelove, R Irwin, K Lalor, S Rhodes
  • Hon Secretary: J Knight
  • Ass Secretary: H Baker
  • Treasurer: J Horgan
  • League Delegates: A Sutton, M Martin, G Millard
  • Auditors: N Lyng, A H Boorn
  • Time Keeper: G Millard
  • Coach: J Keogh

A H Boorn, the retiring Secretary, was awarded Life Membership.