No 1940 Team Photo Available.

The Ainslie 1940 First Grade Team finished in fifth place out on the finals.

The First Grade team that played in the last round was:

  • Back: Lynraven, Mason, Edwards
  • Half Backs: Lee, Bloomfield, Backhouse
  • Centres: White, Evans, Hunetr
  • Hal Forwards: Kennedy, C Martin, McCaskill
  • Forwards: Heyson, Rennis, Fettes
  • Followers: Collins, A Martin  Rover: James

Many Intermediate players filled the void in First Grade for players who left for War Service.

Bob Bloomfield won the Mulrooney Medal.

  • Coach: Lionel James, replaced due to ill health later in season by Tom Evans.

The Intermediate team finished top in the home and away. The second Semi Final was drawn with Eastlake and Ainslie won the replay.

  • Final score: Ainslie 9.10-64 def Eastlake 7.13-55

The Intermediate team progressed to the Grand Final but were defeated by Queanbeyan.

  • Final score: Ainslie 9.3-57 def by Queanbeyan 10.12-72
  • Goalkickers for Ainslie: Stevens 4, Curtin 2, Cleary 2, Eason 1
  • Best: G Robertson, Kruger, Cleary, R Robertson, Stevens, Moore

The Grand Final Team was

  • Moore (Capt.)
  • Curtin, Kruger
  • Backhouse
  • Stevens
  • Walsh
  • R Jones
  • Blackmore
  • Nicholls
  • Vant
  • Wilmot
  • Rolfe
  • I Jones
  • Loveless
  • R Robertson
  • G Robertson
  • Cleary
  • Eason
  • Taylor.

Curtis Moore and Ian Jones tied for the Intermediate Grade Best & Fairest Award.

Juniors and Sub-Juniors were beaten in their Semi-Finals.

Ian Ray won the Cup for the Best & Fairest in the Junior League.

Club Office Bearers

  • Patron: R.G. Menzies
  • President: Ralph Lewis
  • Senior Vice President: C. Gregory
  • Secretary: H. D. Kruger
  • Treasurer: M.P. Kildea
  • Committee: C. Williams, A. Savage, H.E. Kruger, D. Cleary, L. Rowlands, J Beavan, J. Knight, F. Gay, S. Backhouse, L. James, G. Bryant, P. McConaghy, A. Bryan, A. Taylor, T. Evans, T. Laird, J. Keogh

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: The Hibberson Cup: Bob Bloomfield
  • Most Consistent Player: the C.W. Davies Cup: Tom Evans
  • Best Clubman: Civic Jeweller’s Cup: A Bryan
  • Most Improved Intermediate Player to be Promoted to the Senior Side: Vernon White


  • Moore Cup for Best Clubman: Ian Jones and Dudley Kruger
  • Most Improved: Bob Jones
  • Mulrooney Trophy for the Most Useful Player: D Kruger


  • Tom Laird Cup for Best & Fairest: Ian Ray
  • Most Consistent: C Williams Trophy: Wilfred Bull

Sub Juniors

  • J Horgan Cup for Best & Fairest: E. McCulloch
  • Most consistent: C Axelby
  • Most Improved: K Hammond