There were six teams in the Canberra League in 1955, Ainslie, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan-Acton, RMC and Turner.

Ainslie First Grade finished the 1955 season in 5th Position.

Second Grade finished in 4th position but were defeated in the First Semi Final.

19 Year old Ainslie player Barry Browning won the 1955 Mulrooney Medal becoming one of the youngest players to win. Browning polled 15 votes to win by 1 vote.

Photo right: Barry Browning

Coach: Thomas Evans

Ainslie players who were selected to play for the ACT Representative team against Tasmania were Barry Browning, Alan Ray, Don Robertson and Bill Keogh

John Loftus was the leading goal kicker for Ainslie. First Grade with 25 goals.

Manuka defeated Queanbeyan-Acton in the Grand Final, 12.11-83 to 8.6-54, to win the Premiership.

Second Grade

Second Grade finished in 4th position but were defeated in the First Semi Final by Manuka.

  • Final score: Ainslie 4.5-29 def by Manuka 4.16-40
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: McCullough 2, Marryat 1, Webb 1
  • Best: Boorn, Evans, McCullough, Marryat, Webb


The Ainslie Juniors and Sub-Juniors were both defeated in the Preliminary Final to finish in third place.

The Ainslie Junior team were defeat by Manuka by 1 point.

  • Final score: Ainslie 2.6-18 def by Manuka 2.7-19

The Sub-Junior team was also defeated by Manuka.

  • Final score: Ainslie 6.3-39 def by Manuka 6.13-49

Ainslie won the Atoms and the Midgets Premierships.

The Ainslie Atoms defeated Manuka

  • Final score: Ainslie 1.2-8 def Manuka 1.1-7

The Ainslie Midgets defeated Eastlake.

  • Final score: Ainslie 3.3-21 def Eastlake 1.4-10

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Alan Ray
  • Most Consistent: Barry Browning
  • Most Improved: B Gale

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: T Graham
  • Most Consistent: F Marryat
  • Most Improved: P Emmery
  • Best Clubman: M Brindley


  • Best & Fairest: D Reid
  • Most Consistent: P Kimber
  • Most Improved: P Charlton

Sub Juniors

  • Best & Fairest: W Ross
  • Most Consistent: B Kershaw
  • Most Improved: P Ross


  • Best & Fairest: I McKay
  • Most Consistent: J Davies
  • Most Improved: P Kershaw

Atoms A

  • Best & Fairest: J Truesdale
  • Most Consistent: J Williams
  • Most Improved: D Grubb
  • Coach’s Prize: W Cookran

Atoms B

  • Best & Fairest: R Shannon
  • Most Consistent: K Metcalfe
  • Most Improved: M DePlater

Club Officials

  • President: Bruce Whatman
  • Senior Vice-President: Stan Ray
  • Vice Presidents: A Bryan, J Cleary, Tom Evans, C Gregory, J Horgan, M F Kildea, H E Kruger, Ralph Lewis, M Martin, J Watt
  • Secretary: Charles Ratford
  • Treasurer: H Garner
  • Committee: Tom Moore, H E Kruger, B J McCabe, Jim Keegan, Don Ross, J Hipwell, F Marryat, J Cleary
  • Patron: J C Moore