Ainslie finished in Third position after the home and away season. They played Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final at Ainslie Oval.

Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan by 16 points winning 13.15-93 to 11.11-77 to move through to the Preliminary Final against Manuka.

Before a large crowd at Manuka Oval Ainslie defeated Manuka 14.17-101 to 7.12-54.

  • Goal kickers: J Loftus 3, B Browning 3, K Williams 2, R Donnellan 1, A Irvine 1, B Kershaw 1 1, D Ross 1, J Blomfield 1, R Jordan 1.
  • Best: Hincksman brothers, A Ray, B Browning, A Hawke, K Sadler, K Williams.

The Grand Final was played at Manuka Oval between Ainslie and Eastlake.  In a close game Eastlake led by 2 points at half time and Ainslie by 7 at three quarter time. Ainslie  were able to extend the lead in the last quarter to win the Grand Final by 22 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 11.12-78 def Eastlake 8.8-56.
  • Goal kickers: B Browning 4, K Williams 3, J Loftus 1, R Donnellan 1, J Blomfield 1, B Hincksman 1.
  • Best: B Browning, A Irvine, E Hincksman, W Gale, A Hawke, A Ray, K Sadler.

First Grade Awards were:

  • Best & Fairest: Anthony Irvine
  • Most Consistent: Alan Ray
  • Most Improved: William Blomfield

John Loftus was the leading goal kicker with 60 goals.

Ray Donnellan was the Captain/Coach of First Grade with Alan Ray Vice Captain.

The President was Harry Gaylard, Senior Vice President, Stan Ray.