There were eight teams in the Canberra League in 1963, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan, RMC and Turner.

Ainslie finished the home and away games in third place with 12 wins and 5 losses behind Eastlake and Manuka. Ainslie started the season with nine successive victories.

Ainslie defeated Acton in the First Semi-Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.13-91 def Acton 10.18-78
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Chapman 7, Webb 1, Edwards 1, Heales 1, J Blomfield 1, Browning 1, Aitken 1

Ainslie met Manuka in the Preliminary Final at Manuka Oval.

  • Final score: Ainslie 5.12-42 def by Manuka 14.20-104

The Ainslie First Grade team for the Preliminary Final was:

Hawke, Carnegie, Reddacliffe, Palmer, Neeson, Searle, Kershaw, Gowan, Girvin, Browning, Aitken, Murphy, Edwards, Chapman, Webb, Irvine, J Blomfield, Heales,   Reserves: Spencer, Grant

Emergencies: M Elliot, Eastcott

Eastlake defeated Manuka in the Grand Final, 11.15-81 to 6.14-50

  • Coach: Norm Neeson
  • Managers: Harry McCulloch, Richard Adler

Second Grade

Ainslie Second Grade were defeated in the First Semi-Final by Queanbeyan to finish fourth.

  • Final score: Ainslie 5.6-36 def by Queanbeyan 6.11-47
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Bowman 3, Coldacott 2, Calear 1

The Ainslie Second Grade team for the Semi-Final was:

Cross, T Moore, Allan, L Pieper, W Brown, Ryan, Eastcott, Grant, Wynack, Caldicott, Misko, L Pieper, Walsh, Bowman, M Elliot, Kruger, Armstrong, Calear  19th: K Moore  20th: Anderson  21st: Richards

  • Reserves: Windsor, Gale, Broinski
  • Coach: Bruce Whatman
  • Manager: Merv Denley


The Colts Under 19 grade was introduced in 1963.

  • Coach: Lionel James

Intermediate Grade

Changed to an Under 17 competition. Ainslie finished in third place.

  • Manager: Tom Evans

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Bruce Carnegie
  • Runner Up B&F: Barry Kershaw
  • Most Consistent: Norm Neeson
  • Most Improved: J Blomfield
  • Best Clubman: M Denley

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: W Brown
  • Runner Up B&F: C McDonald
  • Most Consistent: I Misko
  • Most Improved: F Grant


  • Best & Fairest: N Harle
  • Runner Up B&F: K Hackett
  • Most Consistent: C Law
  • Most Improved: J Davis

Intermediate Grade

  • Best & Fairest: R Rendell
  • Runner Up B&F: P Martin
  • Most Consistent: R Hall
  • Most Improved: V Evans

Club Officials

  • President: Harry Gaylard
  • Senior Vice President: Stan Ray
  • Vice Presidents: A Bryan, C Burmester, J Cleary, M Denly, T Evans, C Gregory, J Horgan, M F Kildea, H E Kruger, N Lynraven, B Martin, J Rennes, J Rowe, B Whatman, J Watt, C Williams
  • Treasurer: R Glynn
  • Secretary: Alan Ray
  • Committee: R Alder, E Clifford, F Cornell, T Graham, L James, H McCulloch, N Neeson, B Palmer, J Rowe
  • Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew