There were six teams in the Canberra League in 1965, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka and Queanbeyan.

The Ainslie First Grade Team finished in fourth position at the end of the home and away games.

Ainslie played Acton in the First Semi-Final and were defeated by 11 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 11.12-78 def by Acton 12.17-89
  • Goal Kickers for Ainslie: Hackett 2, Heales 2, Hassett 2, Edwards 1, Moore 1, Durkin 1, Slossof 1, Neeson 1
  • Best: Kershaw, Edwards, Heales, McLachlan, Gardiner, Hassett, Stankivicious

Eastlake won the First Grade Grand Final defeating Manuka 20.16-136 to 8.15-63.

Second Grade

The Ainslie Second Grade team finished the home and away games in fourth place with 9 wins and 6 losses.

Ainslie played Turner in the First Semi-Final

Third Grade also finished in fourth place.


The Ainslie Colts defeated Queanbeyan by 21 points in the First Semi-Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 8.5 def Queanbeyan 4.8
  • Main Goal kicker for Ainslie: Read 4
  • Best: Read, Martin, Rendell

The Colts played off in the Grand Final but were defeated by Eastlake.

  • Final score: Ainslie 6.10-46 def by Eastlake 11.11-77
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Carnall 2, Martin 2, Grubb 1, Henderson 1
  • Best: Martin, Read, Smith, Denley

Coach of the Colts was Tom Evans.


The Intermediates finished in 2nd place. Captain Charles Smith won the League Best & Fairest for this grade.

  • Coach: Norm Neeson
  • Assistant Coach: Kevin Hassett

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Barry Kershaw
  • Runner – Up B&F: Ralph Rendall
  • Most Consistent: R Edwards
  • Most Improved: R. Cross
  • Best Clubman: F Cornell

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: K Duff
  • Runner-Up: G Harwood
  • Most Consistent: Allan Hawke
  • Most Improved: Laurie Laffan

Third Grade

  • Best & Fairest: J Truesdale
  • Runner Up: J Maynard
  • Most Consistent: H Brokken
  • Most Improved: D McIntyre


  • Best and Fairest: P Martin
  • Runner Up: B Ryan
  • Most Consistent: R Denley
  • Most Improved: J White


  • Best & Fairest: Charles Smith
  • Runner Up: Graham Read
  • Most Consistent: M Martin
  • Most Improved: J Lalor

Club Office Bearers

  • Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew
  • President: Harry Gaylard
  • Senior Vice Presidents: M Taafe, J Rowe
  • Secretary: Alan Ray
  • Treasurer: Barry Browning