There were seven teams in the Canberra League in 1969, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan and Turner.

In the First Semi-Final Ainslie came from behind to defeat ANU.

  • Final score: Ainslie 11.15-81 def ANU 9.14-68
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Gibbons 3, R Smith 2, I Black 2, P Johnson 2, Robinson 1, White 1
  • Best: R Smith, P Johnson, Gibbons, Ryan, Searle, Stubbs, Laird

Ainslie were defeated in the Preliminary Final by Manuka.

  • Final score: Ainslie 7.10-52 def by Manuka 11.15-81
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Searle 3, R Smith 2, Gibbons 1, I Black 1
  • Best: Gibbons, R Smith, B Johnston, Laird, Johnson, Brian Read

The Ainslie Preliminary Final team was:

  • Backs: Laurie Cronin, John Stubbs, Charles Smith
  • Half backs: Doug Laird, Alan Bloomfield, Phillip Harris
  • Centres: Barry Kershaw, Ralph Rendell Brian Read
  • Half forwards: Bernie Ryan, Robert Smith, Ian Black
  • Forwards: Graeme Cox, Peter Searle, Bruce Johnston
  • Rucks: Peter Johnson, Ron Robinson, Michael Gibbons
  • 19th: David Ryder 20th: Graham Read

Manuka defeated Eastlake in the Grand Final, 11.13-79 to 9.5-59, to win their third successive Premiership.

Ainslie won the Club Championship, the L J Hooker Shield.

1969-Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Second Grade

Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final to go through to the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.3-81 def Eastlake 8.7-55

The Ainslie Second Grade won its third successive Premiership defeating RMC.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.11-89 def RMC 6.7-43
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: K Heales 3, Dalgrin 3, Hackett 2, Glossop 2, Dunkeld 2, Gowing 1
  • Best: Wark, Hackett, Harris, Edwards, White, Layzell

Bob Dunkeld won the League’s Best & Fairest Award for Second Grade, the President’s Trophy.

District Division

Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.7-85 def Eastlake 7.13-55

Third Grade won the Premiership for the second year in a row defeating Eastlake in the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 17.8-110 def Eastlake 8.11-59
  • Coach: Tom Moore

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Peter Johnson
  • Runner Up B&F: Ralph Rendell
  • Most Consistent: John Stubbs
  • Most Improved: Robert Smith
  • Special Award: Michael Gibbons

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Owen Layzell
  • Runner Up B&F: Keith Heales
  • Most Consistent: Karl Price
  • Most Improved: Phillip Harris
  • Special Award: Bob Dunkeld

District Division

  • Best & Fairest: Bill Drake
  • Runner Up B&F: Jim Kershaw
  • Most Consistent: Kevin Moore
  • Most Improved: Tom Duffey