There were seven teams in the Canberra League in 1971, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka and Queanbeyan.

Ainslie finished the home and away games with 12 wins and 6 losses to be third on the ladder. Ainslie defeated the leaders Eastlake in the last round.

Ainslie played ANU at Ainslie Oval in the First Semi-Final and had a narrow victory by 5 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.8-86 def ANU 12.9-81
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Johnson 4, Walsh 3, Read 2, Kershaw 1, M Smith 1, Stubbs 1, Johnston 1
  • Best: Henricksen, Read, Johnson, Layzell, Kershaw

The Preliminary Final between Ainslie and Manuka was held before a crowd of 2,400 at Ainslie Oval.

Manuka defeated Ainslie by 6 points after leading by 40 points early in the final term. Ainslie stormed home kicking the last 6 goals but it was not enough.

  • Final score: Ainslie 11.10-76 def by Manuka 10.22-82
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Walsh 3, Layzell 2, Johnson 2, M Smith 1, B Read 1, Stubbs 1, Gregory 1
  • Best: O Layzell, R Rendell, Henricksen, Hassett, C Smith

The Ainslie First Grade Preliminary Final team was:

  • Backs: K Hassett, Charles Smith, John Cusack
  • Half Backs: R Ramsey, B Hendricksen, Geoff McCormick
  • Centers: Barry Kershaw, Ralph Rendell, G Gardiner
  • Half Forwards: M Walsh, Martin Smith, Owen Layzell
  • Forwards: N Gregory, J Stubbs, B Read
  • Rucks: P Johnson, John Davies, B Johnston
  • Reserves: P Lott, Laurie Laffan

Barry Kershaw topped the Mulrooney votes for Ainslie with the winner being Bill Vaughan from Manuka.

Barry Browning was awarded an Australian National Football Council Merit Award for valuable service to Australian football.

1971-Ainslie Second Grade Team

Ainslie Second Grade finished second after the home and away games behind RMC.

In the Second Semi-Final RMC defeated Ainslie by 9 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 10.10-70 def by RMC 12.7-79

Ainslie defeated Manuka in the Preliminary Final to advance through to the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 22.6-138 def Manuka 10.16-76

The Second Grade team that played in the Preliminary Final was:

D Power, J Fusinato, R Robinson, D Davey, R Denley, B Ryan, K Wark, T Stewart, D Lalor, R Gowing, P Searle, K Heales, T Good, R Dunkeld, P Tormey, T White, I Talsma, D Napier, Reserves: C Price, B McCorry  Emergencies: P Talsma, J Lalor

In the Grand Final against RMC Ainslie were defeated by 17 points to end in second place.

  • Final score: Ainslie 7.7-49 def by RMC 9.12-66
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Dunkeld 2, Napier 2, Gowing 1, Searle 1, Wark 1

Bob Dunkeld topped the League’s Second Grade goal kicking with a record 155 goals. He also came third in the League’s Second Grade Best & Fairest, the J McNamara Trophy.

Under Age Teams

The Under 19 team finished in third place after being beaten by Manuka in the Preliminary Final.

  • Coach: John Williams
  • Manager: John Bravo

The Under 17 team finish as runner ups after being beaten by Manuka in the Grand Final.

  • Coach: Charles Smith
  • Manager: John McGrath


The Monaro Team did not make the finals.

  • Captain/Coach: Ron Edwards

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Brian Read
  • Runner Up B&F: Barry Henricksen
  • Most Consistent: Barry Kershaw
  • Most Improved: Martin Smith

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Bob Dunkeld
  • Runner Up B&F: Karl Price
  • Most Consistent: Peter Searle
  • Most Improved: Peter Tormey

Under 19

  • Don Robertson memorial Trophy: Ian McDonald
  • Best & Fairest: Stewart Smith
  • Runner Up B&F: Ian McDonald
  • Most Consistent: Peter Shanley
  • Most Improved: Geoff Henry


  • Best & Fairest: Bruce Coe
  • Runner Up B&F: Ron Edwards
  • Most Consistent: Alan Scott

Under 17

  • Best & Fairest: Tom Talsma
  • Runner Up B&F: Robert Tutt
  • Most Consistent: Alan Smith
  • Most Improved: Ross Phillips
  • Coach’s Trophy: John McConville

Club Officials

  • President: Harry Gaylard
  • Senior Vice President: Alan Ray
  • Vice Presidents: P Kellaway, Bruce Palmer, W Smith
  • Secretary: Keith Heales
  • Ass Secretary: Jack McGrath
  • Treasurer: Barry Browning
  • Committee: G A Bennett, Bob Bloomfield, John Bravo, F Cornell, W Cousins, L Durkin, G Harwood, J McConville, J McKenzie, P Murdoch, Norm Neeson, B Norbury, C Smith, Ray Venables
  • Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew