he 1989 ACTAFL Competition consisted of six teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka Weston, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong.

Coach Russel Durnan resigned from the position one week before the competition was due to begin. Ainslie appointed Brett Hannam as Captain/Coach with Maurice Wingate his assistant one day before the opening night game against Queanbeyan. The team overcame the difficulties to win the game.

At the completion of the home and away games Ainslie were in second place behind Queanbeyan with 13 wins and 2 losses.

Ainslie First Grade were defeated in the Second Semi-Final by Queanbeyan. The Lead changed 10 times during the game and Ainslie held a 22 point lead 10 minutes into the last quarter but with the wind behind them Queanbeyan stormed home.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.9-87 def by Queanbeyan 14.21-105
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Killer 4, Trebilcoock 3, Gills 3, Wingate 2, McTaggart 1
  • Best: Muir, Wingate, Hannam, Gills, Rogers, Ireland

Ainslie were defeated in the Preliminary Final by Manuka-Weston to finish in third place. Manuka-Weston dominated the first quarter setting up a 3 goal lead which Ainslie couldn’t peg back. It was their first win over Ainslie for the season.

  • Final score: Ainslie 7.10-52 def by Manuka-Weston 11.13-79
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Gills 2, Crisp 1, Zochling 1, Wingate 1, Hannam 1, Killer 1
  • Best: Hannam, Smith, Ireland, Richardson, Muir, Gills

The Ainslie First Grade Team for the Preliminary Final was:

  • Backs: Shane Stockwell. Peter Brown, Ian Muir
  • Half Backs: Wayne Rogers, Brett Hannam, Mathew Conway
  • Centres: Robert McTaggart, Maurice Wingate, Shaun Wornes
  • Half Forwards: Craig Smith, Shane Trebilcock, Peter Ireland
  • Forwards: Andrew Bishop, Mark Killer, Matthew Crisp
  • Rucks: Richardson, Gerard Zochling, Dean Gills
  • Interchange: Finkelde, Van Dijk
  • Emergencies: Dale Saymour, Greg Bishop

Queanbeyan defeated Manuka-Weston in the Grand Final, 12.15-87 to 9.13-67, to win the 1989 Premiership.

Dean Gills was the Club’s leading goal kicker in First Grade with 39 goals.

Ainslie players who represented the ACT against Tasmania were Michael Richardson, Gerard Zochling, Craig Smith, Mark Killer, Dean Gills, Peter Ireland and Matthew Crisp.

  • Coach: Brett Hannam
  • Manager: John Rebecca

Second Grade

The Second Grade finished the home and away games as Minor Premiers and were undefeated with 15 wins.

Ainslie Second Grade defeated Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final to remain undefeated and proceed through to the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.11-89 def Queanbeyan 10.9-69
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelty 6, Ellis 2, Graney 2, Finkelde 2, Cusack 1
  • Best: Graney, Telford, Ellis, Bishop, Palmer

The Ainslie Second Grade team suffered their first loss of the season in the Grand Final as Queanbeyan reversed the result of the Second Semi-Final. Ainslie got within 8 points during the last quarter but Queanbeyan steadied to win by 39 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 9.11-65 def by Queanbeyan 15.14-104
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelty 5, Scholes 1, Palmer 1, Van Dijk 1, Collins 1
  • Best: Brady, Conway, Ellis, Scholes, Michel, Connick

Wayne Kelty was the League’s leading goal kicker in Second Grade with 79 goals.

  • Coach: Malcolm Scholes
  • Manager: R Turner

1989-Ainslie Under 19 Team

The U19s had a difficult year with lack of numbers and finished the home and away games on the bottom of the table with only 1 win for the season.

  • Coach: Ralph Rendell
  • Manager: John Mohrwinkel


Due to lack of player numbers the Club was unable to enter a team in the Monaro competition.

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Craig Smith
  • Runner Up B&F: Michael Richardson
  • Most Consistent: Maurice Wingate
  • Most Improved: Shane Stockwell

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Malcolm Scholes
  • Runner Up B&F: Craig Ellis
  • Most Consistent: Michael Connick
  • Most Improved: Tim Graney
  • Coach’s Award: Grant Brady

Under 19

  • Best & Fairest: Paul Smeaton
  • Runner Up B&F: Sean Palmer
  • Most Consistent: Peter Short
  • Most Improved: Scott Lilley
  • Coach’s Award: Brett Jones

Under 17

  • Best & Fairest: Saul Dollimore
  • Runner Up B&F: John Read
  • Most Consistent: Shane King
  • Most Improved: Tim Brennan
  • Coach’s/Manager’s Award: Shane Stevens
  • Most Prominent Clubman: Garry Cox
  • Jaws Award: Trevor Lond
  • Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Scott Gibson
  • Baitz Liquor Award for Best First Year Player: Shane Trebilcock

Club Officials

  • President: David Lalor
  • Senior Vice Presidents: Don Andrews, Bruce Glossop
  • Vice Presidents: Reg Smith, Greg Croser, Bill Harvey
  • Secretary: Noel McCormack
  • Ass. Secretary: Andrew McGrath
  • Treasurer: Karl Blundell
  • Committee: Garry Cox, Des Eddowes, Brian Palmer, Kel Duncan, John Rebecca, Ian Kirkpatrick, Ross Hincksman, Kevin Grace, Don Cross
  • Patron: Stan Ray