There were 6 teams in the Canberra League in 1995, Ainslie, Belconnen, Queanbeyan, Southern Districts, Tuggeranong and Weston Creek.

Peter Banfield was appointed Coach of the First Grade team for his second year following on from his Premiership in his first year with the Club.

Ainslie played in the Ovens and Murray Preseason carnival and also travelled to Tasmania to play Clarence the reining Premiers in the Tasmanian Football League. Ainslie defeated Clarence in this practice game, 19.11-125 to 9.5-59.

Ainslie won 14 and lost only one of the home and away games to finish as Minor Premiers.

In the Second Semi-Final against Queanbeyan, Ainslie played their worst game of the year losing by 78 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 5.15-45 def by Queanbeyan 19.9-123
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Baxter 2, Kent 1, O’Brien 1, Welsby 1
  • Best: Baxter, Miller, Kent, Zochling, Richardson, Conway

In the Preliminary Final they were able to defeat Weston Creek by 9 points to set up a re-match with Queanbeyan in the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 10.12-72 def Weston Creek 9.9-63
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Welsby 3, Langan 2, Killer 1. McCallum 1, Miller 1, O’Brien 1, Sinclair 1
  • Best: Miller, Bishop, Griffin, DiPetta, Baxter, Richardson

The Grand Final between Ainslie and Queanbeyan was played at Football Park on Sunday 3 September 1995.

Ainslie were able to defeat Queanbeyan by 17 points to win their fourth successive Premiership.

  • Final score: Ainslie 17.10-112 def Queanbeyan 14.11-95
  • Goal kickers: K Welsby 5, G Zochling 3, P Ireland 3, S O’Brien 2, M Sinclair 2, A Dipetta 1, R Langan 1,
  • Best: G Zochling, R Miller, A Dipetta, K Welsby, J Dickie

The Ainslie 1995 First Grade Grand Final Team

  • Backs: Shane Griffin, John Dickie, Ian Muir
  • Half Backs: Stephen Kent, Robbie Miller, Matt Conway
  • Centres: Steven O’Brien, Peter Banfield, Todd Pulford
  • Half Forwards: Gerard Zochling, Mark Sinclair, Andrew Bishop
  • Forwards: Peter Ireland, Kym Welsby, Reece Langan
  • Ruck: Michael Richardson, Robbie Baxter, Aldo Dipetta
  • Interchange: Mark Schmidt, Mark Killer, Paul Gambale

Other players that played First Grade during the year were: Ben Battisson, Derek Bubner, Jason Burgess, Paul Colussi, Scott Gibson, Nigel Harrison, David McCallum, Luke McCormick, Damien Munday, Peter Telford.

First Grade players who Represented the ACTAFL against Northern Territory were: P Banfield, A Dipetta, R Langan, G Zochling, S O’Brien, J Dickie, M Richardson, K Welsby and Matt Conway. Players who played in the Representative game against Glenelg were: P Banfield, A Dipetta, R Langan, R Miller, G Zochling, J Dickie, M Richardson, K Welsby and Andrew Bishop.

The Ainslie 1995 Premiers celebrate their victory

Kym Welsby led the goal kicking with 78 goals.

Gerard Zochling playing his 150th game was awarded the Alex Jesaulenko Medal for Best on the Ground in the Grand Final.

1995-Ainslie Second Grade Team

The Ainslie Second Grade team played Weston Creek in the First Semi-Final but were easily defeated by 54 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 11.7-73 def by Weston Creek 20.7-127
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Burgess 2, Colussi 2, Garland 2, Edwards 1, Gilmour 1, Schmidt 1, R Smith 1, Tutt 1
  • Best: Phipps, Colussi, Schmidt, Burgess, Harrison
  • Coach: Mark Killer, Captain: Jason Burgess

1995-Ainslie Colts Team

The Ainslie Colts played Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final but were defeated by 28 points to finish in 4th place.

  • Final score: Ainslie 8.11-59 def by Queanbeyan 14.3-87
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Munyard 5, McCormick 2, Morgan 1
  • Best: Rogers, Deane, Morgan, Schum
  • Coach: Glen Rebecca

1995-Ainslie District Division Team

The District Division replaced the Monaro League. Ainslie finished the home and away season in fourth place.

Ainslie played Murrumbidgee in the First Semi-Final and  won by 50 points,

  • Final score: Ainslie 11.12-78 def Murrumbidgee 4.4-28
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Ingram 3, Chapman 3, Walters 1, Widden 1, Manni 1, Mann1, McHugh 1
  • Best: Davies, M Ingram, Chapman, McHugh, Rhodes, J Ingram

Ainslie were defeated by University of Canberra in the Preliminary Final by 4 points.

  • Final Score: Ainslie 12.13-85 def by Uni of Canberra 13.11-89
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Chapman 2, Ingram 2, Marr 2, Woods 2, Berry 1, Davies 1, Harberger 1, Macini 1
  • Best: Rhodes, Marr, McHugh, Bourne, Whiddon
  • Coach: Shane McHugh, Manager: Kerrie Guthrie

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Aldo Dipetta
  • Runner Up B&F: Gerard Zochling
  • Most Consistent: Steve O’Brien
  • Most Valuable: Peter Banfield
  • Best in Finals: Robbie Miller
  • Best First Year Player: Paul Colussi
  • Coaches Award: Jason Burgess
  • Richard Fleming Memorial: Peter Ireland

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Mark Schmidt
  • Runner UP B&F: Paul Colussi, Greg Bishop
  • Most Consistent: Nigel Harrison


  • Best & Fairest: Matthew Zochling
  • Runner Up B&F: Tim Chandler
  • Most Consistent: Jason Rodgers
  • Most Improved: James Angel
  • Ted Dhu Most Promising Player: Ben Schum
  • Bev Trebilcock Memorial Award: Tom Munyard

District Division

  • Best & Fairest: Shane McHugh
  • Runner Up B&F: Tony O’Bryan
  • Most Consistent: Craig Chapman
  • Most Improved: Andy Marr
  • Best in Finals: Michael Rhodes
  • Most Prominent Club Person: Kerry McGlinn

Club Officials

  • President: Bruce Glossop
  • Senior Vice President: Garry Marshall
  • Vice President: Garry Cox
  • Secretary: Keith Heales
  • Treasurer: Kel Duncan
  • Committee:  Ross Hincksman, Trevor Lond, Geoff McCormick, Andrew McGrath, Brett Muir, Stephen Read, Ralph Rendell
  • Patron: Stan Ray