In the Canberra League in 1996 there were eight Clubs, Ainslie, Belconnen, Campbelltown, Defence, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Tuggeranong and Weston Creek.

Peter Banfield was appointed coach for his third season.

Preseason games were played against Lavington, Southport on the Gold Coast and at the Belconnen knockout Competition. Ainslie won all these games.

Ainslie won 15 and lost 3 of the home and away games and finished on top of the ladder.  They played second team Eastlake in the second Semi-Final and were able to win by 16 points to go through to the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.7-85 def Eastlake 10.9-69
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Richardson 4, R Langan 2, J Dickie 2, A Dipetta 1, T Pulford 1, C Whitsed 1, I Muir 1, M Kick 1
  • Best: M Kick, S Gibson, J Dickie, S Kent, M Richardson

Ainslie met Eastlake again in the Grand Final before a crowd of over 5000. The scores were level at half time and Ainslie held a 14 point lead at three quarter time before going on to win by 20 points. Ainslie won their fifth Premiership in succession equalling the record held by Eastlake back in the sixties.

  • Final score: Ainslie 12.17-89 def Eastlake 10.9-69
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Richardson 3, R Langan 2, A Dipetta 2, C Whitsed 2, B Battisson 2, P Ireland 1
  • Best: K Howe, R Langan, A Dipetta, J Dickie, I Muir, S Kent

Ainslie players celebrate winning the 1996 Premiership

The Ainslie team selected for the Grand Final was:

  • Backs: Paul Gambale, Scott Gibson, Ian Muir
  • Half Backs: Robbie Miller, Stephen Kent, Martin Kick
  • Centres: Ryan Aitken, Peter Banfield, Andrew Bishop
  • Half Forwards: Scott Langen, John Dickie, John Lidgerwood
  • Forwards: Michael Richardson, Clint Whitsed, Aldo Dipetta
  • Rucks: Ken Howe, Reece Langan, Todd Pulford
  • Interchange: Paul Craig, Peter Ireland, Ben Battisson

A total of 37 players played First Grade during the season. Other players were:
Robbie Baxter, Greg Bishop, Peter Brown, Derek Bubner, Jason Burgess, Paul Colussi, Bruce Gilmour, Matt Gooden, Dean McGee, Damien Munday, Mark Schmidt, Mark Sinclair, Chris Smith, Andrew Wainwright, Sean Woodland, Matt Zochling.

Five Ainslie players were selected in the ACT Representative team that played against Port Adelaide. They were Peter Banfield (Capt./Coach), Ken Howe, Scott Langan, John Dickie and Clint Whitsed.

Ian Muir topped the Ainslie goal kicking with 44 goals.

Capt./Coach Peter Banfield holds up the Premiership Cup

1996-Ainslie Second Grade Team

The Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away season in third place.

  • Coach: Con Moraitis, Manager: John Mohrwinkel
  • Captains: Jason Burgess and Greg Bishop

1996-Ainslie U19 Colts Team

The Ainslie Colts team finished the home and away season out of the top four.

  • Coach: Glen Rebecca, Manager: Kerry McGlinn
  • Captain: Ben Shum

1996-Canberra District Team

Recorded only 3 wins for the home and away season finishing out of the finals.

  • Coach: Shane Schmidt, Manager: Kerrie Guthrie
  • Captain: Matt Ingram, V.Capt: Michael Bennett

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Reece Langan
  • Runner Up B&F: Stephen Kent
  • Most Consistent: Aldo Dipetta
  • Most Valuable: Todd Pulford
  • Best in Finals: Reece Langan
  • Best First Year Player: Andrew Wainwright
  • Coaches Award: Ian Muir
  • Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Pater Banfield

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Robbie Baxter, Damien Munday
  • Runner Up B&F: Sean Woodland
  • Most Consistent: Derek Bubner
  • Best in Finals: Rohan Ward


  • Best & Fairest: Rohan Ward
  • Runner Up B&F: Simon Wheatley
  • Most Consistent: Ben Shum
  • Most Improved: Miles Ferguson


  • Best & Fairest: Matthew Ingram
  • Runner Up B&F: Justin Ingram
  • Most Consistent: Michael Rhodes
  • Most Improved: Matthew Day
  • Most Prominent Club Person: Noel McCormack

Club Officials

  • President: Bruce Glossop
  • Senior Vice President: Garry Marshall
  • Vice President: Garry Cox
  • Secretary: Keith Heales
  • Treasurer: Kel Duncan
  • Committee: Trevor Lond, Andrew McGrath, Peter Poke, Don Cross, Brett Muir, Geoff McCormick, Ross Hincksman