There were seven teams in the First Grade competition, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Sydney Swans, Tuggeranong and the Wildcats.

Chris Rourke was appointed senior Coach. Chris had many years coaching experience through country Victoria and also in the AFL Sydney League.

Ainslie finished the home and away games in sixth place with 5 wins and13 losses. It was a difficult season for Ainslie with low player numbers and the loss of so many experienced players over 2005 and 2006.

Two Ainslie players were selected in the ACT Representative team, Billy Neely and Nick Paine. Billy Neely and Nick Paine were also selected in the AFL Canberra Team of the Year. Nick Paine was the Club’s leading goalkicker with 26 goals.

Ash Harris won the AFL Canberra Rising Star Award.

Nathan Greatz played his 100th First Grade game for Ainslie.

  • Coach: Chris Rourke
  • Assistant Coaches: Tim Chandler, Anthony Bourke
  • Captain: Billy Neely
  • Manager: Gary Paine

Second Grade

There were six teams in the Second Grade competition, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Magpies, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong. Ainslie Second Grade finished in sixth position with 1 win and 19 losses.

  • Coach: Wayne Cook
  • Assistant Coach: Trevor Treloar
  • Manager: Garry Keegan

2007-Ainslie Under 18 Team

The Under 18 team finished the home and away in fifth place with 8 wins and 12 losses.

  • Coach: Malcolm Scholes
  • Manager: Gary Grozinger

2007-Ainslie Women’s Team

The Ainslie Women’s team finished the home and away games in fourth position ahead of ANU on percentage.

In the First Semi Final Ainslie defeated Riverina. Ainslie were defeated in the Preliminary Final to finish in third place.

Karina Demant was selected in the ACT Representative team that played in the Women’s National Carnival in Canberra.

  • Coach: Shane Gnaden
  • Manager: Michael Tindale

80th Year Celebrations

Ainslie held a function combined with Presentation Night to celebrate the 80th year of the Club. The Club was formed in 1927. A book about the history of the Ainslie Football Club titled “a Capital achievement” written by Alan Foskett, was launched.

Five former players were also inducted into the Ainslie Wall of Fame. They were Kevin Neale, Keith Heales, Barry Browning, Alan Ray and Bob Bloomfield.

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Billy Neely
  • Runner up B&F: Ian Lawless
  • Third B&F: Nick Paine
  • Coach’s Award: Shaun Mooney
  • Rising Star: Ash Harris
  • Richard Fleming Memorial Award: David Love

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Giles Tranter
  • Runner up B&F: Jason Iten
  • Best Clubman: Trevor Treloar
  • Coach’s Award: Stephen Lound

Under 18

  • Best & Fairest: Jesse Griffin
  • Runner up B&F: Nathan Barb
  • Best Club Person: Mitch Mulrooney
  • Most Promising Player: Ben Perry
  • Coach’s Award: James Taylor
  • Bev Trebilcock Award: Stewart Gray


  • Best & Fairest: Karina Demant
  • Runner up B&F: Laura Portaro
  • Most Improved: Luisa Marzotto
  • Coach’s Award: Bernadette Connors
  • Encouragement Award: Robyn Hume
  • Player’s Player: Vanh Manthongsy
  • Most Prominent Clubman: Colin and Jill Williams
  • Jaws Award: John Taylor

Club Officials

  • President: Ian Muir
  • Senior Vice President: Trevor Lond
  • Vice President: Wayne Rogers
  • Secretary: John O’Loughlin
  • Treasurer: Colin Williams
  • Committee: Ian Muir, Trevor Lond, Wayne Rogers, John O’Loughlin, Colin Williams, Ian Bradfield, Matthew Conway, Salvo Delorenzo, Brett Hannam, Wayne Kelty
  • Manager Football Operations: Garry Lawless
  • Patron: Alan Ray