Ainslie finished in third place after the home and away games.

Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final by 19 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.13-91 def Queanbeyan 11.6-72
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: J Tutt 4, M Crook 2, T Inkster 2, T Daniel 1, J Holmes 1, B Hughes 1, R Lewis 1, A Mathis 1
  • Best: D Love, E Stone, R Lewis, J Tuitt, J Holmes, S Foster

Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Preliminary Final to advance to the Grand Final. This was the first Grand Final for Ainslie since 1997.

  • Final score: Ainslie 10.6-66 def Eastlake 4.7-31
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: T Inkster 4, D Argall 1, M Ghobrial 1, A Harris 1, B Hughes 1, C Pettersson 1, J Tutt 1
  • Best: T Inkster, D Love, D Tow, R Lewis, I Lawless, J Holmes

In a very tense Grand Final at Manuka Oval against Belconnen the scores were tied with 2 minutes to go. A late goal to Belconnen gave them a win by 6 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 10.13-73 def by Belconnen 11.13-79
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: J Tutt 3, A Mathis 2, M Crook 1, B Hughes 1, T Inkster 1, R Lewis 1, C Pettersson 1
  • Best: B Hughes, J Pratt, J Tutt, E Stone, M Crook, J Holmes

Tim Inkster was the leading goal kicker for the Club with 66 goals.

Three Ainslie players, Michael Ghobrial, Connor Pettersson and Jason Tutt played representative football for the ACT.

Marcus Crook and Tim Inkster were selected in the AFL Canberra Team of the Year.

  • Coach: Chris Rourke
  • Ass. Coach: Con Moraitis
  • Manager: Gary Paine

2009-Ainslie Grand Final Team

Second Grade

Ainslie Second Grade finished in fourth place after the home and away.

In the First Semi-Final Ainslie were defeated by Eastlake to finish in fourth place.

  • Final score: Ainslie 7.6-48 def by Eastlake 13.8-86
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Jillard 2, P Neiberding 1, M Lawless 1, M Renet 1, C Mathis 1, M Creese 1
  • Best: S Campbell, B Rebecca, M Lawless, M Jillard, J Sullivan, C Mathis

The Ainslie Second Grade Semi-Final team was:

Marc Ablett, Drew Alsford, Shaun Campbell, Matthew Creese, Stephen Gill, Stewart Gray, Mark Jillard, Michael Lawless, Alvaro Macias, Clint Mathis, Andrew McJannett, Mitch Mulroney, Paul Neiberding, Andrew Olson, Brent Rebecca, Matt Renet, Greg Robertson, Brett Sheehan, Daniel Simpson, James Sullivan, Lincoln Sivilicic.

  • Coach: Tony Bourke

2009-Ainslie Under 18 Team

Ainslie Under 18s finished the home and away in third place.

Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final by 45 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 15.6-96 def Queanbeyan 7.9-51
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: C Baxter 4, L O’Neill 3, B Matthews 2, A Birch 2, A Grozinger 1, L Highfield 1, B Sainsbury 1, B Garrard 1
  • Best: B Sainsbury, J Creaser, C Baxter A Bunday, L Highfield, P Schroder

In the Preliminary Final Ainslie were defeated by Belconnen to finish in third place.

  • Final score: Ainslie 6.5-41 def by Belconnen 14.7-91
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: P Schroder 2, B Matthews 1, A Birch 1, C Baxter 1, L O’Neill 1
  • Best: J Creaser, L O’Neill, P Schroder, D Roberton, J Bradfield, J Hirst

The Ainslie Under 18 team for the Preliminary Final was:

Corey Baxter, Alex Birch, Jordan Bradfield, Alex Bunday, Josh Creaser, Rodney Dart, Ancel Franklin, Ben Garrard, Zac Greig, Alex Grozonger, Reuben Haupt, Lachie Highfield, Jeremy Hirst, Jon Hunter, Tom Jacobson, Brendan Matthews, Jake Millynn, Lucas O’Neill, Dane Roberton, Julian Rouch, Brendan Sainsbury, Brady Scholes, Peter Schroder, Peter White.

  • Coach: Malcolm Scholes
  • Ass. Coach: Brian James, Corey Saitta
  • Manager: Garry Grozinger

2009-Ainslie 3rd Division Team

Ainslie Third Grade finished ninth out of ten teams with 2 wins and 16 losses.

  • Coach: Trevor Treloar

2009-Ainslie Women’s Team

The Ainslie Women’s team finished the home and away games in second position with 12 wins and 2 losses.

The Grand Final against Tuggeranong was played in wet, muddy conditions with the score being the lowest of the year. With each side level on 2 goals, 2 behinds with a minute to go Tuggeranong were able to kick appoint to win the Premiership.

  • Final score: Ainslie 2.2-14 def by Tuggeranong 2.3-15

Kendelle Treloar played her 150th game in the Women’s League.

Five Ainslie players represented the ACT in 2009. They were Holly Cogle, Karina Demant, Samantha Engel, Alex Hargreaves and Melissa Hurley.

Holly Cogle, Karina Demant, Samantha Engel and Candice Freeman were selected in the AFL Canberra Women’s Team of the Year.

  • Coach: Toby Treloar

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Tim Inkster
  • Runner up B&F: Marcus Crook
  • Third B&F: Ben Hughes
  • Coach’s Award: David Tow
  • Rising Star: Jason Tutt
  • Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Ian Lawless

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Brent Rebecca
  • Runner up B&F: Nathan Robertson
  • Best Clubman: James Sullivan
  • Coach’s Award: Drew Alsford

Under 18

  • Best & Fairest: Jeremy Hirst
  • Runner up B&F: Corey Baxter
  • Best Club Person: Josh Creaser
  • Most Promising Player: Lucas O’Neill
  • Coach’s Award: Peter Schroder
  • Bev Trebilcock Award: Lachie Highfield


  • Best & Fairest: Chris Jordan
  • Runner up B&F: Dave Stewart
  • Best Clubman: Leigh Miller
  • Coach’s Award: Peter Dowling


  • Best & Fairest: Hannah Gill
  • Runner up B&F: Candice Freeman
  • Most Improved: Melissa Hurley
  • Coach’s Award: Meredith Wells
  • Player’s Player: Luisa Marzotto
  • Most Prominent Club Person: Peter Mulroney
  • Jaws Trophy: Bruce Robertson

Office Bearers

  • President: Ian Muir
  • Senior Vice President: Trevor Lond
  • Vice President: Wayne Rogers
  • Secretary: Matthew Conway
  • Treasurer: John O’Loughlin
  • Committee: Ian Muir, Trevor Lond, Wayne Rogers, Matthew Conway, John O’Loughlin, Salvo Delorenzo, Brett Hannam, Ian Haupt, Gavin Pound, Mark Sinclair
  • Manager Football Operations: Corey Saitta
  • Patron: Alan Ray