The Canberra First Grade Competition in 1933 consisted of 6 teams, Acton, Ainslie, Eastlake, Goulburn, Manuka and Queanbeyan. Ainslie’s home ground was Northbourne Oval.

Ainslie were in the top 4 with a few rounds to go but some late losses caused them to drop down to fifth place. A total of 5 wins was an improvement on 1932. New players included Lionel James, Warwick Pierce, Colin and Don Moore, Ralph Spendelove, Bede Hurley, Jimmy Kearney, Bryan Martin, Tom Gribble, Bruce Boag and Albie Day. Many of these had come through the Ainslie Juniors.

The Captain of Ainslie, Cliff Williams, was awarded a trophy donated by D Dunlop for the Most Meritorious Performance by a Canberra Player in the All-Australian Carnival.

The Ainslie team that played in the last round against Goulburn was:

  • C Williams (Capt.)
  • A Sutton, S Dee
  • C Moore
  • D Moore
  • L James
  • B Hurley
  • A Bryan
  • W Pierce
  • N Lyng
  • R Nancarrow
  • J Neill
  • H Loftus
  • McNamara
  • Boag
  • W Knight
  • R Spendelove
  • Anderson
  • C Bright (19th)

Other players that played during the year were:

  • C Diaton
  • H Stent
  • F Maxwell
  • Maloney
  • Bulmer
  • McIntosh
  • Kennedy
  • B Day.

In June Ainslie secured the service of Jim Keogh a former Victorian League player with Collingwood as their coach.

The Ainslie Intermediate team played finals but it is unknown where they finished. Collector won the Premiership.

The Intermediate team included the following players:

  • B Martin (Capt.)
  • H Gaylard (V.Capt)
  • M Quigg
  • N Anderson
  • C Edwards
  • N Southwell
  • C Fraser
  • W Hicks
  • D Roche
  • B Boag
  • T Pickard
  • B Thurbon
  • R Pfister
  • J Robinson
  • B Day
  • M Bateson
  • T Conlon
  • R Brian
  • H Percival
  • A Axelby
  • Matthews
  • Lewis
  • C Bright
  • Cheel
  • Douglas
  • Riddle
  • De Smet
  • Worthy, Hooper .


The Ainslie Junior Team won its fourth successive Premiership.

W Lee won the League’s Best and Most Manly Player Award in the Junior Grade.

The Ainslie Junior Team that contested the finals was

  • Saunders
  • Quigg
  • Lee
  • McDonald
  • Smith
  • Dinnerville
  • Withers
  • Law
  • Peterson brothers
  • Boyd
  • Johnson
  • Connelly
  • Baker
  • Sharp
  • McNamara
  • Boorn
  • Dunshea
  • Stevens
  • Mulligan
  • Kennard.