There were seven teams in the Canberra League in 1970, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan and Turner.

Ainslie finished the home and away season in second place behind the undefeated Eastlake.

Ainslie caused an upset in the Second Semi-Final defeating Eastlake at Manuka Oval.

  • Final score: Ainslie 12.12-84 def Eastlake 9.23-77
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Davies 4, G Read 3, Laffan 2, B Read 1, Johnson 1, Stubbs 1
  • Best: Johnson, McCormick, Davies, G Read, Rendell

In the 1970 Grand Final before a crowd of 5000 Ainslie scraped home against Manuka to record a 6 point win. Ainslie won its first Premiership since 1961.

  • Final Score
    Ainslie    2.4    6.4    11.16    12.23-95
    Manuka  4.1    6.6    10.6      13.11-89
  • Goals: Davies 4, Gibbons 3, B Read 2, Kershaw 1, Johnson 1, Gardiner 1
  • Best: Gardiner, Kershaw, Gibbons, B Read, Davies, Johnstone, Johnson

The Grand Final team was:

  • Backs: Kevin Hassett, Viv Morgan, John Stubbs
  • Half Backs: Geoff McCormick, Charles Smith, Bernie Ryan
  • Centres: Graeme Gardiner, Ralph Rendell, Barry Kershaw
  • Half Forwards: Graham Read, David Stanley, Brian Reid
  • Forwards: Laurie Laffan, John Davies, Mick Gibbons
  • Ruck: Peter Johnson, John Cusack, Bruce Johnstone, Tony White (19th), Peter Searle (20)

Ainslie rover Mick Gibbons finished second in the Mulrooney Medal count.

Barry Kershaw played his 150th game for Ainslie in the Second Semi-Final.

Senior Vice-President Alan Ray was awarded the Australian National Football Council Merit Award for Valuable services to Australian Football.

The Hooker Shield for the best performed club was awarded to Ainslie for the fourth time in five years.

  • First Grade Captain/Coach: John Davies
  • Assistant Coach: Peter Johnson

Second Grade

Ainslie Second Grade defeated Eastlake in the Preliminary Final to go through to the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 21.15-141 def Eastlake 8.15-63

Ainslie were beaten by undefeated RMC in the Second Grade Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 8.3-51 def by RMC 13.9-87

Monaro Team

The Monaro team finished outside the top four. The Monaro Division Coach was Tom Moore.

Underage Team

The Under 18s played in the Grand Final against Manuka but were defeated. The team was coached by Norm Neeson and the Manager was Tom Sherd.

The Under 16 team reached the Preliminary Final but were defeated by Eastlake to finish in third place.The team was coached by John Stubbs and the Manager was Bill Cousins.

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Peter Johnson
  • Runner-Up B&F: Brian Read
  • Most Consistent: Charlie Smith
  • Best 1st Year Player: Geoff McCormick


  • Best & Fairest: Owen Layzell, Terry Stewart
  • Most Consistent: Peter Tormey
  • Most Improved: Ken Wark


  • Best & Fairest: Graeme Bullas
  • Runner-Up B&F: Tony Jamieson
  • Most Consistent: Tony May
  • Most Improved: Peter Southwell

Under 18

  • Best & Fairest/Don Robertson Memorial Trophy: Darren Gilmore
  • Runner-Up B&F: Roger Bennett
  • Most Consistent: John Outhwaite
  • Committee Trophy: Stewart Smith
  • McConville Service Station Trophy: Ian McDonald

Under 16

  • Best & Fairest: Tom Talsma
  • Runner-Up B&F: John McConville
  • Most Consistent: Reho Ahlstedt
  • Most Improved: Tony Jarrett

1970 Offcials

  • President: H.J. Gaylard
  • Senior Vice-President: J. Spencer, A.L. Ray
  • Vice Presidents: N. Neeson, B. Palmer, W. Smith
  • Hon. Secretary: F. Connell, S.J.L. Ray
  • Hon. Treasurer: B. Browning
  • First Grade Captain/Coach: John Davies
  • Assistant Coach: Peter Johnson
  • Monaro Division Coach: Tom Moore
  • Under 18 Coach:  Norm Neeson
  • Under 16 Coach: John Stubbs