The 1987 ACTAFL Competition consisted of six teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka Weston, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong.

In 1987 the Club celebrated its 60th Anniversary and were very successful winning three Premierships.

In First Grade Ainslie finished the home and away in third place with just 7 wins compared to the top side Queanbeyan with 14 wins.

Ainslie defeated Tuggeranong in the First Semi-Final. Ainslie were down 4 goals at half time but kicked 7 to 3 in the second half to win by 4 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 11.17-83 def Tuggeranong 12.7-79
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Tutt 3, Walters 2, Smith, Miller, Richardson, Marshall, A Bishop, H Muir
  • Best: Richardson, Wingate, A Bishop, A Tutt, Hannam, Porta

In the Preliminary Final Ainslie defeated Manuka-Weston to go through to its ninth Grand Final in the past ten years.

  • Final score: Ainslie 10.11-71 def Manuka-Weston 6.15-51
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Miller 4, Durnan 2, Walters 1, Smith 1, Wingate 1, Wornes 1
  • Best: Wingate, Richardson, Miller, Hannam, Tutt, Killer

Ainslie played flag favourites Queanbeyan in the Grand Final at Football Park, Phillip and ended up winning by 54 points to win the Premiership. It was their first victory over Queanbeyan for the season.

  • Final score: Ainslie 21.9-135 def Queanbeyan 11.15-81
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Tutt 4, Durnan 3, Smith 3, Miller 3, Walters 2, Wingate 2, Bishop 2, Rogers, Wornes
  • Best: Killer, Durnan, A Bishop, A Tutt, Richardson, Porta

The 1987 Grand Final team was:

Russel Durnan (Capt./Coach), Brett Hannam, Andrew Bishop, Wayne Rogers, Robbie Baxter, Alan Tutt, Michael Richardson, Maurice Wingate, Brent Walters, Mark Sinclair, Stephen Smith, Mark Killer, Ross Hincksman, Gerard Zochling, Gordon Marshall, Geoff Miller, Shaun Wornes, Michael Porta, Hadyn Muir, Peter Foley

The Alex Jesaulenko Award for the Best Player in the Grand Final was shared by two Ainslie players, Russel Durnan and Mark Killer.

The Club’s leading goal kicker for 1987 was Stephen Smith with 41 goals.

Robbie Baxter, Brett Hannam and Gordon Marshall played their 100th First Grade games for Ainslie.

  • Captain/Coach: Russel Durnan

1987-Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Ainslie defeated Manuka-Weston in the Second Semi-Final to advance through to the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 15.14-104 def Manuka-Weston 11.10-76
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Condon 3, Stockwell 3, Lond 2, Seymour 2, Collins 1, Conway 1, Finkelde 1, Griffin 1, Telford 1
  • Best: Brown, Condon, Endal, Wilks, Kelly

Second Grade met Manuka-Weston again in the Grand Final and had a good win by 65 points to win the Premiership.

  • Final score: Ainslie 18.21-129 def Manuka Weston 8.16-64
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: S Condon 6, W Kelty 4, S Griffin 2, Kelly, Brown, Conway, Mooney, Endal, Finkelde
  • Best: Condon, Wilkes, Kelly, Brown, Conway
  • Coach: Terry Mooney

1987-Ainslie Under 19 Team

Ainslie defeated Belconnen in the Under 19 First Semi-Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 8.16-64 def Belconnen 5.10-40
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: Berry 3, Thompson 1, Schow 1, Trebilcock 1, Walters 1, Dollimore 1

The U19s were defeated in the Preliminary Final by Manuka Weston to finish in third place.

  • Final score: Ainslie 9.9-63 def by Manuka Weston 11.12-78
  • Coach: Ron Eskrigge

1987- Ainslie Monaro Team

Ainslie Monaro only had one loss in the home and away games finishing as Minor Premiers.

Ainslie lost to Harman in the Second Semi-Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 14.9-93 def by Harman 15.20-110

They defeated CCAE in the Preliminary Final by a large margin to set up a replay with Harman in the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 16.18-174 def CCAE 13.14-92

Ainslie won the Grand Final over Harman by 84 points to win the Premiership.

  • Final score: Ainslie 23.18-156 def Harman 10.12-72
  • Major goal kickers for Ainslie: Browne 5, Van Dijk 4, Scholes 3
  • Best: Browne, Cantlon, Michel, Vickers, Jeffcott

Captain/Coach Malcolm Scholes won the Monaro League Best & Fairest, the Warren Tansley Medal. Greg Brown won the award for the Best Player in the Final Series.

Kim Van Dijk was runner up in the Monaro goal kicking with 78 goals.

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Andrew Bishop
  • Runner Up B&F: Michael Richardson
  • Most Consistent: Maurice Wingate
  • Most Improved: Michael Porta

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: William McBride
  • Runner Up B&F: Michael Conway
  • Most Consistent: Stephen Duffy
  • Most Improved: Paul Finkelde

Under 19

  • Best & Fairest: Michael Schow
  • Runner Up B&F: Chris Mohrwinkel
  • Most Consistent: Scott Gibson
  • Most Improved: John Lawson

Under 17

  • Best & Fairest: Jeff Mohrwinkel
  • Runner Up B&F: Robert McTaggart
  • Most Consistent: Linus Devenish
  • Most Improved: Richard Baumhammer


  • Best & Fairest: Andrew Michel
  • Runner Up B&F: Greg Brown
  • Most Consistent: Jeff Garrett
  • Most Improved: Mark Jeffcott
  • Most Prominent Clubman: John Rebecca
  • Jaws Award: Tony Ielasi
  • Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Gerard Zochling
  • Baitz Liquors Award: Mark Sinclair

Club Officials

  • President: Keith Heales
  • Senior Vice President: David Lalor
  • Vice Presidents: R Smith, Kevin Grace, Don Andrews
  • Secretary: Noel McCormack
  • Ass.Secretary: Andrew McGrath
  • Treasurer: Karl Blundell
  • Committee: J Brock, Bruce Glossop, D Eddowes, J Miller, Brett Muir, Brian Palmer, Jack McGrath, John Rebecca, S Richardson, Ian Kirkpatrick, K Stone, W Harvey, R Bink.