Ainslie played in the newly created NEAFL competition which was divided into two conferences, Eastern Conference and Northern Conference. Teams in the Eastern Conference were Ainslie. Belconnen, Eastlake, GWS Giants Reserves, Queanbeyan, Sydney Swans Reserves and Tuggeranong. Teams in the Northern Conference were Aspley, Brisbane Lions Reserves, Broadbeach, Gold Coast Suns Reserves, Labrador, Morningside, Mt Gravatt, NT Thunder, Redland, Southport.

Ainslie finished the home and away games in second place behind the Sydney Swans with 13 wins and 4 losses.

In the Second Semi-Final Ainslie were well beaten by the Sydney Swans.

  • Final score: Ainslie 9.17-71 def by Sydney Swans 21.7-133
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: I Lawless 4, D Argall 1, D Bowles 1, R Tuohey 1, A Vandenberg 1, R Tutt 1
  • Best: J Holmes, D Tow, R Shirley, M Lawless, J Griffin, M Mulroney

Ainslie played Eastlake in the Preliminary Final after Eastlake defeated the GWS Giants in the First Semi-Final.

Ainslie had a big win over Eastlake by 90 points to set up a re-match with Sydney Swans in the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 21.20-146 def Eastlake 8.8-56
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: N Paine 5, M Crook 4, B Hughes 3, M Lawless 3, A Vandenberg 2, E Stone 1, R Shirley 1, C Mathis 1, D Love 1
  • Best: M Lawless, R Andrews, B Hughes, M Crook, D Tow, N Paine

The Eastern Conference Grand Final between Ainslie and Sydney Swans Reserves was played at Manuka Oval on Saturday 17 September. Ainslie Jumped the Swans early and had a 2 goal lead at quarter time. Ainslie never allowed the Swans into the game and increased their lead each quarter to run out winners by 52 points. Ainslie won their 24th Premiership.

  • Final score: Ainslie 19.11-125 def Sydney Swans 10.13-73
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: N Paine 5, M Crook 3, B Hughes 3, M Lawless 2, A Vandenberg 2, D Argall, D Bowles, C Mathis, D Love
  • Best: M Crook, A Vandenberg, J Griffin, A Harris, E Stone, N Paine

The Ainslie team for the NEAFL Eastern Conference Grand Final was:

John Holmes (Capt), Marcus Crook, Michael Lawless, Ben Hughes, Nick Paine, Clint Mathis, Dale Walker, Aaron Vandenberg, Robert Tuohey, Robert Shirley, Ryan Tutt, David Tow, Jason Fleming, Damien Bowles, Ash Harris, Michael Ghobrial, David Love, Jesse Griffin, Eric Stone, Ian Lawless, Rowan Andrews, Dale Argall.

Marcus Crook was awarded the Alex Jesaulenko Medal as the best on the ground in the Grand Final.

As the NEAFL Eastern Conference Premiers Ainslie played the NEAFL Northern Conference Premier, NT Thunder, in the NEAFL Grand Final. The game was played at Traeger Park in Alice Springs. NT Thunder had defeated Morningside in the Northern Conference Grand Final, 26.22-178 to 12.8-80.

In a very entertaining game Ainslie kept with NT Thunder for three quarters and trailed by 8 points at three quarter time. NT Thunder kicked 5 goals to 3 in the last quarter to win by 22 points.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13.14-92 def by NT Thunder 16.18-114
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Crook 3, M Lawless 3, B Hughes 2, N Paine 2, A Vandenberg 1, D Walker 1, C Mathis 1
  • Best: D Tow, M Crook, B Hughes, R Tutt, R Shirley, R Tuohey

The Ainslie NEAFL team for the NEAFL Grand Final was:

John Holmes (Capt), Marcus Crook, Michael Lawless, Ben Hughes, Nick Paine, Clint Mathis, Dale Walker, Aaron Vandenberg, Robert Tuohey, Robert Shirley, Ryan Tutt, David Tow, Jason Fleming, Damien Bowles, Ash Harris, Michael Ghobrial, David Love, Lachlan Carter, Jesse Griffin, Eric Stone, Ian Lawless, Jackson Kew, Lachlan Crook.

Other players that represented Ainslie in the NEAFL Grade that didn’t play in the two Grand Finals were:

Andrew Olson, Andrew Mathis, Ben Perry, Daniel McFarlane, Djali Bloomfield, Jack Cuzner, Jeremy Hirst, Lachlan Highfield, Mitchell Mulroney, Shaun Campbell, Troy Price, Corey Baxter, Kane Morris, Lucas O’Neill, Mark Ward, Tyson Carracher

Ainslie won the C W Chandler Club Championship Trophy for the best performed club.

Ainslie players selected in the NEAFL Eastern Conference Team of the Year were: Marcus Crook, Ben Hughes, Nick Paine, Robert Shirley, Robert Tuohey and Dale Walker.

Daniel McFarlane played his 100th First Grade game for Ainslie.

2011 – Ainslie Senior Squad

Second Grade

Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away games in second position behind Queanbeyan on percentage.

Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the second Semi-Final by 21 points to move through to the Grand Final.

  • Final score: Ainslie 13-9-87 def Queanbeyan 10.6-66
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Grozinger 3, C Baxter 2, K Morris 1, L O’Neill 1, N Robertson 1, C Haining 1, S Campbell 1, B Perry 1, M Ablett 1, L Crook 1
  • Best: A Olson, S Campbell, J Cuzner, M Johnston, J Kew, L O’Neill

In the Grand Final Ainslie were defeated by Queanbeyan.

  • Final score: Ainslie 7.6-48 def by Queanbeyan 12.15-87
  • Goal kickers for Ainslie: L Highfield 2, A Grozinger 2, M Ablett 1, B Perry 1, C Haining 1, N Robertson 1
  • Best: L Carter, C Dobson, A McJannett, M Johnston, C Haining, B Perry
  • Coach: Anthony Bourke
  • Assistant Coaches: Andrew Harrington, Brett Sheehan
  • Manager: Chris Ticehurst

2011 – Ainslie Under 18 Team

Under 18

The Ainslie Under 18s finished the home and away games in sixth place with 4 wins and 13 losses.

  • Coach: Brendan Collis


Ainslie Thirds played in the Division 3 competition and finished the home and away in seventh position with 7 wins and 11 losses.

  • Coaches: Andrew Ferrell and Ben Kenny


Ainslie Women finished the home and away in fourth position with 11 wins and 5 losses.

Ainslie were defeated in the First Semi-Final by Tuggeranong.

  • Final score: Ainslie 4.2-26 def by Tuggeranong5.4-34
  • Goal Kickers for Ainslie: B. Weatherstone 2, K. Demant 1, H. Gill 1
  • Best Players: S. Engel, F. Nelson, K. Judd, H. Cogle, L. Marzotto, M. Hurley

Ainslie had five players selected in the AFL Canberra Women’s Team of the Year: Holly Cogle, Karina Demant, Hannah Gill, Luisa Marzotto and Tamara Walker.

Karina Demant, Hannah Gill, Melissa Hurley, Luisa Marzotto and Meredith Wells played Representative football for the ACT.

Sam Engel, Meredith Wells, Karina Demant and Dani Curcio played their 100th games for Ainslie.

  • Coach: Kendelle Treloar
  • Manager: Mel Kershaw

Club Awards

First Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Robert Shirley
  • Runner Up B&F: Marcus Crook
  • Third B&F: Ben Hughes
  • Coach’s Award: David Tow
  • Rising Star: Aaron Vandenberg
  • Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Ian Lawless

Second Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Lachlan Crook
  • Runner Up B&F: Andrew McJannett
  • Best Clubman: Mitch Mulroney
  • Coach’s Award: Ben Perry

Under 18

  • Best & Fairest: Brent Ford
  • Runner Up B&F: Reuben Haupt
  • Best Clubman: Brent Ford
  • Most Promising Player: McKinley Drummond
  • Coach’s Award: Luke Thomson
  • Bev Trebilcock Award: Lachie Carter

Third Grade

  • Best & Fairest: Stewart Gray
  • Runner Up B&F: Alistair Hamit
  • Best Clubman: Peter Schroder
  • Coach’s Award: Heath Wells
  • Most Improved: Justin Smith


  • Best & Fairest: Holly Cogle
  • Runner Up B&F: Tamara Walker
  • Coach’s Award: Kristy Anderson
  • Most Improved: Fiona Nelson, Larissa Treloar
  • Player’s Player: Tamara Walker

Club Officials

  • President: Ian Muir
  • Senior Vice President: Matthew Conway
  • Vice President: Salvo Delorenzo
  • Secretary: Ian Haupt
  • Treasurer: John O’Loughlin
  • Committee: Ian Muir, Matthew Conway, Salvo Delorenzo, Ian Haupt, John O’Loughlin. Brett Hannam, Lee Phillips, Gavin Pound, Mark Sinclair, Joe Mann
  • Manager Football Operations: John Smith
  • Patron: Alan Ray